Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

High Number of Central Apneas
High Number of Central Apneas
Hello,

I have been using my CPAP consistently for about 4 months now, and have found that I seem to be having a large number of Clear Airway events. My doctor and I had talked about treatment emergent central apnea, and that it would likely reduce or go away over time, however, it seems that as of the last few weeks, the central apnea events have actually been increasing. I definitely feel that my sleep quality has gotten worse this last month and I am not sure why, as I haven't made any changes to the CPAP settings.

I have been tracking the data in Oscar, but could use some help looking at the data, as I don't understand much past the surface level of what it is showing me. Here are shots of the last 3 nights from Oscar. Any help would be much appreciated!

Thank you!
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: High Number of Central Apneas
You are having some positional apnea. You can see positional apnea where either H or Oa events are clustered together. Getting rid of as many as you can will lower your AHI. Positional apnea can NOT be controlled by pressure changes. You have to find out what position you are getting into and cutting off your own airway. Have you changed your sleep position? Sleeping on your back? Using more (or new) pillows? These things can cause positional apnea by chin dropping to your sternum and cutting your airway. Think of it of a kinked hose – nothing can get through – you have to unkink the hose…