Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Importance of flow limits when titrating ASV
Importance of flow limits when titrating ASV
I have been using an AVS for about 3 years.  The EPAP has been set at 9.  After reading some old posts, it occurred to me that this may be too high.  So I have reduced the EPAP from 9 to 8 and then to 7.  At the level of 7, I am still seeing zero obstructive apneas.  I find that I am sleeping well (better?) at the lower rate.  However, I have not given any consideration to the number of flow limitations some of which reach a level of 1.  How and/or how much should the level of Flow Limitations enter into the titration process?  Thanks.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Importance of flow limits when titrating AVS
I assume you meant ASV rather than AVS so I'm going change the title to reflect that. It would really help to see some Oscar charts. EPAP is the setting used to keep the airway patent against OA (will flag as UA on your machine), and we try to keep the EPAP low on the ASV, and perhaps use ASV auto in a range that allows adjustment. Flow limitation is often seen in ASV when a lack of spontaneous effort results in a machine generated breath. These typically look flow-limited, however, if a lot of low-level flow limitation is present, we may want to look at PS min as well. I think this would be easier to answer with a chart that includes your settings, respiratory statistics, Events, Flow, Mask pressure, Flow limitation, etc.
Sleeprider
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com

Organize your OSCAR Charts
Attaching Files
Mask Primer
How To Deal With Equipment Supplier