Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Pressure] Looking for advice about ASV settings
Looking for advice about ASV settings
Hello,

I've been using my ASV for about six months with mixed results.

My current settings are:

Min EPAP- 6.2
Max EPAP- 8.0
Min PS- 4.2
Max PS- 12.0

My AHI is usually under 1.0, but I'm having issues with not getting enough response from my machine. When I'm having central apneas (Cheynes Stokes breathing), at the end of my exhale, my airways completely close off and don't allow air in until it wakes me up or I just sleep right through it. Either way, I feel like because of this I don't get good sleep, in general. 

With these current level settings, could it be a question of needing to raise levels higher in order to enable the air to penetrate my airways (nostrils; I use an AirFit N30i)?
Or could it be a question of position? (I've been sleeping on my back in a semi-fowler's position)
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Looking for advice about ASV settings
Here's an attachment of my data.

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Post Reply Post Reply
Something you may try is an edit to settings. To remedy to lack of response in CA, likely you need an edit in PS. I would consider going to default PS just a night to see what it does, this is PS 3-15.

Moving the min PS back to 3 may make things a bit more comfortable until higher PS is called for. Adding higher PS may well give the ASV the extra power it needs to jolt a breath during CA.