Post Reply 
ResMed Hose Length?
Author Message
archangle Online
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 2,128
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #11
RE: ResMed Hose Length?
Tie the machine down, put it in a drawer, tie down the hose or do something so you don't turn the machine over.

Some people found that their bilevel/BiPAP/VPAP machines had trouble with long hoses. EPR or Flex might also have some problems. I think the people doing this had extra long hoses.

If the therapy works OK, and you feel OK, don't worry too much. You might find your machine is a little less effective in detecting apneas with the long hose.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
11-02-2012 07:09 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
BobF Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 60
Joined: Aug 2012

Machine: ResMed
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Respironics Blue Gel
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 12
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #12
RE: ResMed Hose Length?
After reading the above I have now strapped the CPAP to the table with a long tie-wrap. Bob.
11-02-2012 07:10 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
vsheline Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 925
Joined: Jul 2012

Machine: S9 VPAP Adapt (USA Model# 36007, not better 36037)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Quatro FX or F10 w/ Liner. MirageQuatro & Gecko gel pad
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 15 EPAP, PS 4-10, Max IPAP 25
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: Marfan Syndrome, chronic bradycardia, occasional Cheyne-Stokes Respiration

Sex: Male
Location: California, USA

Post: #13
RE: ResMed Hose Length?
(11-01-2012 10:35 PM)BobF Wrote:  I got a 10' hose. Someone told me that the extra length hose required a different pressure setting. My AHI has been really low with 12 cm H2O pressure setting. Is there any truth to this about the hose length and pressure? Regards, Bob.

Hi BobF,

The xPAP machine tries to maintain the correct pressure reaching the mask (and you), by taking into account the pressure lost across the hose, and to do that accurately it needs to know how wide and how long the hose is. The User Guide or Clinician's Manual probably says how to tell the machine what type and length hose is being used.

If your machine is AutoPAP and the machine miscalculates the pressure lost across the hose (because it is not set to correct hose type and length), it is not important (because the machine automatically adjusts pressure based on how well you are breathing) and only affects the accuracy of the reported pressure. The actual pressure may be different than the reported pressure but the actual pressure still gets adjusted to whatever is needed to maintain good breathing.

However, if your machine is not an Auto machine, any miscalculation in how much pressure is lost across the hose will directly affect the actual pressure reaching the mask (and you). The greater the air flow because of Leak the lower will be the pressure reaching the mask, unless the machine is correctly set for the type of hose.

The standard fat short hose does not drop much pressure even if the Leak is fairly large. But the slimline hose drops a lot more when Leak is large. If you use a 10 ft hose, be sure it is regular width, not Slimline. (I think if any company is selling a 10 ft slimline hose, it would not be a reputable company, because I don't know of any xPAP machine that can be set for a 10 ft slimline hose.)

When using Slimline hose it is especially important that the machine knows the correct hose type and length whenever Leak (either unintentional or intentional) is large, such as whenever the pressure is high (above a pressure of 15, I'd guess the intentional leakage through the mask vent holes might start getting large) or whenever there are unintentional leaks.

Take care.

Advisory Members as a group provide advice and suggestions to Apnea Board administrators and staff concerning Apnea Board operation and administrative policies. Membership in the Advisory Member group should not be understood as in any way implying medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment.
(This post was last modified: 11-03-2012 01:54 PM by vsheline.)
11-03-2012 01:52 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
BobF Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 60
Joined: Aug 2012

Machine: ResMed
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Respironics Blue Gel
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 12
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #14
RE: ResMed Hose Length?
Hi. Thanks for the great info. It backs up what I had heard. I started out with the 6' hose. My settings per the Sleep Lab was to be 9 cm H2O. It was not working for me as my AHI's were too high and erratic. My doctor said to set it to 12 cm H20. Since then I have used the 10' hose and my AHI's are really low. My doctor has reviewed my results, plotted out with Excel, and he was satisfied with the results. I guess the longer hose pressure drop is doing OK for me with the 12 Cm H2O setting. Regards, Bob.
11-03-2012 04:16 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 6,078
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Nuance (non-pro)
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #15
RE: ResMed Hose Length?
It would be interesting to test this out. You can make your own manometer.

Let me see if I can get this right.

Take a container of water at least as deep as your pressure number. Meaning if yours is set to 12, then you need a container at least 12cm deep.

Mark 12cm on the regular hose and the 10' one.

Put on the 6' hose and put it in the water up to that mark. Keep the hose as straight as possible. Turn on the machine. The machine should push all of that water out of the hose.

Do the same with the 10' one.

It would be interesting to see the results!

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
11-03-2012 04:54 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
JJJ Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 690
Joined: Apr 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Most recent: Wisp, Pilairo, Mirage Vista
Humidifier: ResMed S9 Autoset
CPAP Pressure: 15-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: USA 97217

Post: #16
RE: ResMed Hose Length?
(11-03-2012 04:54 PM)PaulaO2 Wrote:  It would be interesting to test this out. You can make your own manometer.
It would be interesting to see the results!

Interesting, indeed. And it would also be interesting if someone would test a 15 mm hose and a 22 mm hose of the same length to see if the width of the hose makes any difference and, if so, how much.

My machine has the older firmware which does not have a setting for the newer 15 mm hoses. I'd love to get a 15 mm hose, and I can easily buy one, but I don't know how much the new firmware adjusts the pressure when the user sets it to 15 mm.

It would be great to have the results of scientific inquiries like these on the wiki.
11-03-2012 05:13 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
archangle Online
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 2,128
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #17
RE: ResMed Hose Length?
(11-03-2012 04:54 PM)PaulaO2 Wrote:  It would be interesting to test this out. You can make your own manometer.

Let me see if I can get this right.

Take a container of water at least as deep as your pressure number. Meaning if yours is set to 12, then you need a container at least 12cm deep.

Mark 12cm on the regular hose and the 10' one.

Put on the 6' hose and put it in the water up to that mark. Keep the hose as straight as possible. Turn on the machine. The machine should push all of that water out of the hose.

Do the same with the 10' one.

It would be interesting to see the results!

That won't work for determining the pressure drop caused by the hose. If the hose causes a pressure drop, it will only do so when there is air flowing through the hose. With no airflow, the pressure at both ends of the hose will be the same.

If you're concerned about the effect of the hose, you'll have to get an inline connector and manometer like this and use it while connected to the mask.

[Image: ISP9910_400_A.jpg]

Once you have the inline connector and the connected air tube, you could theoretically use the end of the tube under water to measure the pressure. It's probably going to be difficult to measure the small pressure change you're looking for with water, especially since it will probably vary as you inhale and exhale.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
11-03-2012 07:08 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
JJJ Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 690
Joined: Apr 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Most recent: Wisp, Pilairo, Mirage Vista
Humidifier: ResMed S9 Autoset
CPAP Pressure: 15-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: USA 97217

Post: #18
RE: ResMed Hose Length?
(11-03-2012 07:08 PM)archangle Wrote:  That won't work for determining the pressure drop caused by the hose. If the hose causes a pressure drop, it will only do so when there is air flowing through the hose. With no airflow, the pressure at both ends of the hose will be the same.
If you're concerned about the effect of the hose, you'll have to get an inline connector and manometer like this and use it while connected to the mask.

[Image: ISP9910_400_A.jpg]

Once you have the inline connector and the connected air tube, you could theoretically use the end of the tube under water to measure the pressure. It's probably going to be difficult to measure the small pressure change you're looking for with water, especially since it will probably vary as you inhale and exhale.

Can you suggest a place to buy one of the above inline connectors? One of our providers? Someplace else? (Bear in mind that you can't post commercial URLs here.)
11-03-2012 07:31 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,511
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 9/14
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #19
RE: ResMed Hose Length?
(11-03-2012 07:31 PM)JJJ Wrote:  Can you suggest a place to buy one of the above inline connectors? One of our providers? Someplace else? (Bear in mind that you can't post commercial URLs here.)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Invacare

Take what you read with pinch of salt and evaluate on your own, don't take it for being the truth or correct
11-03-2012 07:45 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
cbramsey Offline

Monitors

Posts: 900
Joined: Mar 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Philips Respironics Wisp
Humidifier: ResMed H5i with ClimateLine
CPAP Pressure: 6 - 12
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Supreme Overlord of Web Darkness

Sex: Male
Location: NC, USA

Post: #20
RE: ResMed Hose Length?
Theoretically, there is a drop in pressure with increased hose length.

However, because the hose length is (at most) 10 feet long, the pressure loss is so minuscule, it is not measurable.

For example, for a flow rate of 0.1 m3/min (approximately a pressure of 5 cm H2O for a Respironics System One APAP), at an initial pressure of 100 psig (which is wwwwwaaaaayyyyyy more than you get from your average XPAP machine), you would only lose 0.22 psi for a 1/2 inch diameter pipe 100 feet long.

Source: Compressed Air Pipeline Pressure Drop Table

Granted, the source used a steel pipe so the actual pressure loss would be a bit higher, but it is STILL not enough to measure.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
(This post was last modified: 11-03-2012 08:48 PM by cbramsey.)
11-03-2012 08:46 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Tubing; hose buddy; and get the tube outta my face! Clementine 12 564 08-27-2014 08:41 PM
Last Post: Sleepster
  AHI and length of events Ghandi 8 315 08-17-2014 07:39 PM
Last Post: Ghandi
  Heated hose option locked GordonJ 5 410 06-09-2014 08:04 AM
Last Post: jaycee
  2nd go around as a hose head jhurlbut 23 705 06-05-2014 04:00 PM
Last Post: diamaunt
  [Equipment] During sleep, the hose often gets tangled under/around me and the machine falls over Aelius 10 444 06-04-2014 12:07 PM
Last Post: Homerec130
  [Equipment] Neat trick with cpap hose Sinkiller 5 667 05-20-2014 04:39 PM
Last Post: DocWils
  How to you prevent water build up in your hose mikael26288 18 5,457 05-17-2014 11:30 PM
Last Post: zonk

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)