Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

BiPap Newbie - struggling
BiPap Newbie - struggling
Hello, I am new to trying a PAP device.  My first few nights have not gone well.

Ordinary (without a PAP device), I fall asleep fast, and I usually do hit an early incident of apnea right away, but usually manage to fall asleep anyway through it or right after that. Then, I usually sleep for a long time after that, albeit with frequent (according to a sleep study both central & obstructive) apnea events through the night (these usually do not wake me to consciousness).

On the new CPAP (technically a BiPAP), that immediate initial apnea event causes the device to trigger more air, which wakes me.  It also makes the apnea incident worse, and I end up fully stopping breathing or snorting or whatever.  So, I close my eyes and try again.  At which point, I go into a repeat cycle of this pattern, maybe a dozen laps in a short period.  So, after an hour, I have done maybe a dozen laps of drifting off, stopping breathing, and then having the device wake me up.  At which point, I am exhausted and miserable.  Last night I had to stop after an hour or so of this.  My heart was racing and my chest was starting to feel weird.  I felt like I was being given a cardiac stress test.

Based on my limited understanding of the device, here’s my layperson’s guess at what might be happening: as I am nearing sleep, my breathing gets very shallow (or stops entirely) for a moment, the device at that moment is doing one of two things: either making it hard to exhale or making it hard to inhale, which makes the apnea moment worse (if not causes it), I start to suffocate and wake up.  Next, the device switches modes, and blasts me in the face with air, which ensure I stay awake.  Repeat and repeat.