Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Staph Infection in Nose:
Staph Infection in Nose:
My mother (77yo) has a staph infection in her nose, she's on cpap treatment, uses distilled water in the humidifier tank and my father washes the hose and humidifier chamber every month or so, I'm wondering if it could be caused by her CPAP or not?   I have been using mine for 7 years and have not had an issue like this..

Thanks
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Staph Infection in Nose:
Anything is possible, but unless she loaned her equipment to someone with a staph infection, it's unlikely. The staphylococcus bacterium is present on a widespread basis on most of us, but is not normally infectious unless it enters a wound on the skin. That could happen with a CPAP mask, or pillows, if abrasion or any wound is present from another source. Staph infections are contagious and can be spread by toothbrushes, towels, coughs, sneezes or close skin contact. It's going to be really hard to identify a source or cause. It might be a good idea to up the cleaning game with an anti-bacterial like Control III during the infection. Be aware that anyone handling her equipment is especially vulnerable and need to use a disinfecting hand cleaner if a disinfectant is not used in the equipment washing process.
Sleeprider
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com

Organize your OSCAR Charts
Attaching Files
Mask Primer
How To Deal With Equipment Supplier

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply