Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Apnea clusters
Apnea clusters
I have been using CPAP for about 6 months now. Many nights I average 1 or 2 apneas an hour and if I look at the Sleepyhead report, the apneas are scattered in ones and twos.

However, many nights (and seemingly more often lately) the average is around 5 and if I look at the report I see clusters of apneas lasting 5 or 10 minutes during the early part of the night. This is my best sleep time and I feel poorly rested the next morning.

I don't understand why the CPAP is unable to deal with these more effectively. I wonder if the Airsense 10 Autoset for Her is the wrong machine for me?

Please help with any advice, suggestions or explanations.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Apnea clusters
It sounds like you may be having "Positional" Apnea.  The main symptom is a cluster of apneas with large gaps without apneas in between.  This is a guess because you have not provided any Sleepyhead charts.  This frequently occurs because the chin drops and obstructs the airway.  The common solution is a loose fitting soft cervical collar.

Post charts and we can better help.

Fred
Post Reply Post Reply
I will post some charts tomorrow. Anything in particular?

fyi I am wearing quite a substantial chin strap.
Post Reply Post Reply
stillaliveca,
Your thread should be in the Main Forum. Your question is targeted at apnea/sleep and not being software related. I'll be putting a request in to have it moved. I just wanted to give you a "heads-up".
Crimson Nape
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com
Attaching Images and Files on Apnea Board
Apnea Helpful Tips