Post Reply 
Bogus data for first hour
Author Message
JJJ Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 751
Joined: Apr 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Most recent: Wisp, Pilairo, Mirage Vista
Humidifier: ResMed S9 Autoset
CPAP Pressure: 17-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: USA 97217

Post: #1
Bogus data for first hour
Friday night's data shows all the graphs and data to be in massive negative numbers from 11:05 pm (bedtime) to about 1:15 am. Thereafter the data looks like a normal night for me.

I also note that the Statistics (in the left side of the screenshot below) show all kinds of data that the machine does not ordinarily report, or at least, Sleepyhead has never displayed before - like SP02, among others.

Sometimes the S9 Autoset gets stuck, like if I ever have a zero AHI night it will report zero every night thereafter until I unplug the machine and plug it back in again. But this time whatever went wrong seems to have corrected itself. I've never heard of this particular glitch from anyone else here before.
(This post was last modified: 06-15-2014 10:23 AM by JJJ.)
06-15-2014 10:20 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
retired_guy Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 2,744
Joined: Jan 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 10.6/14, EPR 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Is it bedtime yet?

Sex: Male
Location: Beautiful, albeit very wet Oregon Coast

Post: #2
RE: Bogus data for first hour
That should have made a really loud sucking noise. Did you happen to notice anything missing Saturday morning? Like your tonsils for instance?
06-15-2014 10:27 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
JJJ Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 751
Joined: Apr 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Most recent: Wisp, Pilairo, Mirage Vista
Humidifier: ResMed S9 Autoset
CPAP Pressure: 17-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: USA 97217

Post: #3
RE: Bogus data for first hour
(06-15-2014 10:27 AM)retired_guy Wrote:  That should have made a really loud sucking noise. Did you happen to notice anything missing Saturday morning? Like your tonsils for instance?

The tonsils disappeared during my sixth year, but everything else seems OK. Too-funny

I should have added that the additional channels for this night that I have never seen before or since were Pulse Rate and SpO2. I assume Pulse Rate refers to my breathing rate and not heart rate. And as for SpO2, I don't have any equipment other than the S9 Autoset, so I don't know where that data might have come from. Maybe part of the glitch is that the machine thought I had a pulse oximeter. Or maybe the glitch is in SleepyHead, not the machine. Are these two additional channels things that you'd see if you have a pulse oximeter?
06-15-2014 11:08 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
vsheline Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,916
Joined: Jul 2012

Machine: S9 VPAP Adapt (USA Model# 36007, not better 36037 or 36067)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F10 or SimPlus w/ 2Liners. MirageQuatro & Gecko gel pad
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 15 EPAP, PS 5-10
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: Marfan Syndrome, chronic bradycardia, occasional Cheyne-Stokes Respiration

Sex: Male
Location: California, USA

Post: #4
RE: Bogus data for first hour
(06-15-2014 11:08 AM)JJJ Wrote:  I should have added that the additional channels for this night that I have never seen before or since were Pulse Rate and SpO2. I assume Pulse Rate refers to my breathing rate and not heart rate. And as for SpO2, I don't have any equipment other than the S9 Autoset, so I don't know where that data might have come from. Maybe part of the glitch is that the machine thought I had a pulse oximeter. Or maybe the glitch is in SleepyHead, not the machine. Are these two additional channels things that you'd see if you have a pulse oximeter?

Hi JJJ,

Yes, pulse rate and saturation percentage of oxygen (SpO2) would be recorded by a Pulse Oximeter, and perhaps SleepyHead mis-imported the data.

Perhaps you can delete that day from SH and try re-downloading into SH.

Since you have a ResMed machine, ResScan can be used to check whether it was the machine (unlikely, I think) or a SleepyHead thing.

.

Membership in the Advisory Member group should not be understood as in any way implying medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment. The Advisory Member group provides advice and suggestions to Apnea Board administrators and staff on matters concerning Apnea Board operation and administrative policies - not on matters concerning treatment for Sleep Apnea. I think it is now too late to change the name of the group but I think Voting Member group would perhaps have been a more descriptive name for the group.
(This post was last modified: 06-15-2014 01:07 PM by vsheline.)
06-15-2014 12:52 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
diamaunt Offline

Members-b

Posts: 436
Joined: May 2012

Machine: S9 VPAP Auto 36006
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: mirage quattro/pilairo q
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: 9-20ish
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: texas

Post: #5
RE: Bogus data for first hour
(06-15-2014 11:08 AM)JJJ Wrote:  I should have added that the additional channels for this night that I have never seen before or since were Pulse Rate and SpO2.

the s9 series allows for the connection of an outrageously expensive pulse/ox monitor, and so stores data for those on the card, so, yes, the chart is for your heart rate (pulse) not your breathing rate, which is never called 'pulse'.

something got confused somewhere, whether it was SH getting crazy, messed up data on the card, or your machine acting weird...
(This post was last modified: 06-15-2014 01:10 PM by diamaunt.)
06-15-2014 01:09 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
JJJ Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 751
Joined: Apr 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Most recent: Wisp, Pilairo, Mirage Vista
Humidifier: ResMed S9 Autoset
CPAP Pressure: 17-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: USA 97217

Post: #6
RE: Bogus data for first hour
(06-15-2014 12:52 PM)vsheline Wrote:  Yes, pulse rate and saturation percentage of oxygen (SpO2) would be recorded by a Pulse Oximeter, and perhaps SleepyHead mis-imported the data.
Perhaps you can delete that day from SH and try re-downloading into SH.
Since you have a ResMed machine, ResScan can be used to check whether it was the machine (unlikely, I think) or a SleepyHead thing.

Thanks for the information.

I don't have any computers with Windows, so ResScan is not a possibility. But I did try your suggestion to re-import the data into SleepyHead. Unfortunately, it didn't make any difference. But fortunately it's not a big deal, just something really weird that I wanted to report in case it ever happens to anyone else.
06-15-2014 02:26 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
JJJ Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 751
Joined: Apr 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Most recent: Wisp, Pilairo, Mirage Vista
Humidifier: ResMed S9 Autoset
CPAP Pressure: 17-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: USA 97217

Post: #7
RE: Bogus data for first hour
When I went to bed last night I pulled the SD card out of the computer and inserted it into the S9 Autoset. Normally when I do this the screen lights up and displays "reading SD card" for a long time, then goes back to its normal display. But last night I got nada. I reinserted the SD card several times, but the machine did not recognize it.

After many mutterings of <expletive deleted>, I gave up. I was highly annoyed, because this had happened to me many months previously with my PRS1. In the case of the PRS1 it turned out to be a defective card reader, which some months later I was able to repair, so the PRS1 now sits in the closet as my backup machine. Hence I was very worried that the card reader in the S9 Autoset had failed.

As a first line of attack on the problem I took the SD card back to the computer, where it mounted and displayed its files perfectly. For the heck of it I decided to rename one of the files on the card by appending .old. Then I took the card back to the bedroom and inserted it into the S9 Autoset again. And voilĂ ! The machine's screen came to life! Yay!

But this time the screen said the card was defective and did I want to reformat it. Since I knew SleepyHead had already saved its most recent data to the hard drive in the computer, I let the machine reformat the card. After a long time it finished, and I proceeded to go to bed.

When I got up this morning I put the card into the computer and it worked as always. I do not know if the failure to read the card the first time was related to the bogus data, but it seems like a strong possibility.
06-16-2014 11:08 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Dr. Wants To Do A 24-Hour Test harmon k 6 222 12-08-2016 02:55 PM
Last Post: robysue
  Sleepyhead data vs. Doctor's data Daisylouu 8 1,414 09-01-2016 06:10 PM
Last Post: eseedhouse
Exclaimation I wake up every hour when using CPAP Scredfox 11 3,451 07-30-2016 12:05 PM
Last Post: PoolQ
  Revised Post Regarding "I need help with SH data" - with data included! Jeffo1 3 595 05-16-2016 11:28 PM
Last Post: Jeffo1
  [Symptoms] Events per hour going up! marinexio19 3 707 04-28-2016 08:44 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
Arrow [News] Daylight Savings Time - turn your clocks one hour ahead Sat night SuperSleeper 8 1,021 03-14-2016 03:52 PM
Last Post: GrammaBear
  Bad hour every night, should I change pressure range? Winterfrost 9 934 02-26-2016 02:08 PM
Last Post: OpalRose

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)