Post Reply 
Cpap vs Vpap settings
Author Message
GMark Offline

New Members

Posts: 2
Joined: Aug 2014

Machine: ResMed Vpap Auto S9
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Activa
Humidifier: None
CPAP Pressure: 14
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #1
Cpap vs Vpap settings
I am temporarily using a Vpap. I normally use a CPap wth 14 pounds of pressure.
What levels on the Vpap would equal the Cpap. My cpap is not working and I am
on vacation.
Mark
08-11-2014 09:27 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaytonA Offline
Wiki Editor
Monitors

Posts: 3,053
Joined: Dec 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 VPAP Auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: H5i(distilled-top up)
CPAP Pressure: VAuto MinE14.0 MaxI 20.6 PS4.0
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Orange County,California

Post: #2
RE: Cpap vs Vpap settings
If you have an S9 VPAP Auto, you can set it to act like your CPAP. I am not sure how to get into the Clinician's menu on the S9 but someone will come along with that information. Go into the settings menu and your first choice should be "mode". Your choices will be Auto, Spont (bilevel), CPAP. Choose CPAP and it will dump you into the pressure setting. Set your pressure. I am not sure if the CPCP menu offers EPR but if it does, set it the same as your CPAP and you should be ready to rock and roll.

Best Regards,

PaytonA
08-11-2014 09:46 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
GMark Offline

New Members

Posts: 2
Joined: Aug 2014

Machine: ResMed Vpap Auto S9
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Activa
Humidifier: None
CPAP Pressure: 14
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #3
RE: Cpap vs Vpap settings
Thanks so much!! I hope that does it!!
08-11-2014 10:43 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
robysue Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 1,247
Joined: Oct 2013

Machine: PR Dreamstation BiPAP Auto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Swift FX
Humidifier: PR Dreamstation humidfier
CPAP Pressure: min EPAP = 4; max IPAP = 9;
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic EncorePro

Other Comments: Papping since September 2010

Sex: Female
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post: #4
RE: Cpap vs Vpap settings
(08-11-2014 09:27 PM)GMark Wrote:  I am temporarily using a Vpap. I normally use a CPap wth 14 pounds of pressure.
You mean 14 cm H20 of pressure. Which is a whole lot less than 14 pounds of pressure.

Quote:What levels on the Vpap would equal the Cpap. My cpap is not working and I am
on vacation.
Mark
On a VPAP there are two ways you make the VPAP work just like your CPAP.

Method 1: Change the mode from VPAP S (or VPAP Auto) to CPAP and set the pressure at 14 cm.

Method 2: Leave the mode alone, but set:
EPAP (or min EPAP) = 14
IPAP (or max IPAP) = 14
PS = 0 (if there is a PS setting)

Questions about SleepyHead?
See my Guide to SleepyHead
08-12-2014 11:17 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Fine tuning settings Cranberry Ray 4 259 01-07-2017 05:08 AM
Last Post: kwhenrykerr
  Need to get Data from Resmed Vpap Auto (not the S9) wilkr 3 126 01-05-2017 12:10 AM
Last Post: justMongo
  Problems with my humidifier settings...... binky12 9 471 01-02-2017 06:20 PM
Last Post: binky12
  Help with Bipap settings SupraSeth94 18 590 12-29-2016 05:26 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Mask settings on Dreamstation? Russatrice 10 710 12-25-2016 11:39 PM
Last Post: eseedhouse
  Can someone help look at my settings and data daveofgv 7 296 12-19-2016 05:14 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Settings question Slim1950 2 240 12-15-2016 10:08 AM
Last Post: Slim1950

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)