Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

EVIDENCE OF AIRFIT P10 VENT OBSTRUCTION CAUSING HYPERCAPNIA
Gross 

PART 1

THE GOOD

I am recapping an earlier post I made to provide context for this post.

To begin, I would like to say that I love the Airfit P10 for its innovative solution to the problems with the headgear and vents of traditional nasal pillows.

I am a physician and have used well over 20 different products from full face to nasal mask and pillows since being diagnosed with OSA. I finally settled on the Resmed AirSense 10 Autoset and P10 pillows. 

I found that its light weight, split head strap resulted in much improved lateral stability over the usual pillow design, which tended to pull upward and back. This was necessary because of the need to provide upward tension against the nostrils. The price was less lateral stability and leaks. This was compensated for with beefier straps for pulling the head gear tighter, resulting in discomfort and the inevitable depression marks on your face. The P10 headgear pulls both upward and downward resulting in force vector more directly backward from the nose while still maintaining a good seal. This creates a four-point restraint that makes the pillow much less prone to being dislodged by any lateral pressure or pull on the tubing. This avoids the need for undue tension on the headgear straps, more comfort and no facial marks.

I also found the vents to be an elegant solution to the problem of noise and the cold stream of air that characterized traditionally vented pillows.