Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

High AHI's in Mexico City
High AHI's in Mexico City
I have been using a cpap for several years, with, until recently good success. My AHI levels for over a year were between 2.3 and 3.7 according to Sleepyhead. I was living in New York City during that period. I went to Mexico City at the end of January 2017 and my AHI's showed a marked increase to a range of 8.8 to 15.2 in February and March, with a sharp increase in centrals. I returned to NYC and saw my sleep doctor this week. He thought that there might be a connection between the high altitude of Mexico City and the increase of centrals, but the centrals are only one component of my AHI's. He said that he would do some research about the relationship between altitude and apneas. I mentioned the possibility of switching to an apap and he told me that apap's were not good for central apneas.  Our plan now is for me to use my current cpap and settings while I am in New York and see what happens. I will do an overnight oxygenation test, come back to see him nd then possibly do a cpap titration test to check my pressure. He also mentioned the possibility of switching to a bipap. One person recommended a bipap on one of my previous posts, that may actually be the solution. If my doctor recommends it it will be paid by medicare as I would have gone through using CPAPS. I guess I should start researching bipaps. I know that there are a couple of Dreamstation models and the resmed aircurve 10. Does anybody have any recommendations?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: High AHI's in Mexico City
Mexico City is at quite a high elevation. Elevation is in the 7500 ft above sea level region. (7380 to 12890 at the highest point.