Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Are any of these events real?
Are any of these events real?
I have been using APAP for 4 months and, with help from kind people on these forums, I have managed to get my AHI consistently below 1 - often well below. I am at the point where I am starting to question some of the event flags, as I gradually realise that the machines are not perfect at this.

I would like to offer for comment the only 3 events flagged last night, to see if I am right to be skeptical. I have synchronised the data from my Resmed 10 APAP and my Wellue SleepU pulse oximeter.

Event #1

This doesn't look at all like a typical hypopnea to me. The movement right from the start of the event and the pulse spike 30s later are what I see a lot of, and believe to be arousals? This particular one woke me up - 90% of them don't. The lack of any oxygen drop makes it even less likely to be a hypopnea, I believe - according to the official definition anyway (though I realise the ResMed has no way to take that into consideration).

Event #2

This CA was flagged while I was surely awake. At 4:18:30am I awoke (it's not clear why) and then immediately realised I needed to do one of my patented sniff-flags (5, to say I was on my right side). I do this to help me study how many times each night I am actually awake (typically 7 times) and also help work out if one side is better for me than the other (as in the hospital's PSG, it doesn't appear so). This was accompanied by a synchronising movement spike as I deliberately sharply twisted the wrist containing the oximeter. Did I really fall asleep and have a CA less than 60s later?

Event #3

This OA shows similar activities to Event #1, and I believe we are looking at an arousal without wakening?