Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[Equipment] Is there an Auto CPAP machine that does NOT light up at all?
Is there an Auto CPAP machine that does NOT light up at all?
Q: Is there a CPAP machine that doesn’t display any light at all during the night, either as a setting or by default?

If they all light up, are there any that use amber/red light instead of white/blue light?

DETAILS ABOUT WHY I ASK (because I always write long posts in an era of TLDR)

I am using a DreamStation as described in my UserCP settings.

I’m pretty new to CPAP, but have had 40+ years’ experience of SLEEPING.

I’m oddly sensitive to many things. One of those things is ambient light during the night. Light interupst my sleep. I often wake up during the full moon, for example, because too much light seeps in around my blackout curtains.

The DreamStation has an unpleasant pulsing white LED when it is plugged in but switched off, but that (thank GOD!) disappears once I’ve turned on the therapy. If I get up at night to use the bathroom (check on my kids, etc.~happens most nights), I shut off the machine and then the horrible white light blasts out trying to share My Info. I think this behavior is impacting my quality of sleep in the second half of the night. 

I don’t use my phone/iPad at night for the same reason, so this isn’t specific to the CPAP. I even cover my (adjustable brightness, already on lowest setting) clock face with a hankie to dim it further, though its orange LEDs are less arousing than white/blue light.

Perhaps a travel CPAP exists with no display? But I’d still prefer to record my data!...
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Is there an Auto CPAP machine that does NOT light up at all?