Post Reply 
With respironics is there a way to modify the data on the sd card
Author Message
Ghandi Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 137
Joined: Aug 2014

Machine: RemStar Pro with C-Flex+Philips Respironics System One
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: airfit p10(resmed)
Humidifier: systeme one humidifier with humidity set at 3 and heat set at 1
CPAP Pressure: 8
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #1
With respironics is there a way to modify the data on the sd card
I would like per exemple to erease any signs of pressure modification or cflex adjustment i make to avoid the DME telling my sleep doctor. It was a subtitle thretd but they warned me the doc already dropped a couple of patients of played around with those settings.

I'm a software developer so if there is anyone explaining it to me, i should be able to get it pretty fast

Thank you,

Ghandi.
08-16-2014 11:19 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
big_dave Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 409
Joined: Apr 2012

Machine: PR System One DS560
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: F&P Pilairo Q or ResMed Mirage Activa
Humidifier: PR System One
CPAP Pressure: 14 - 20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Former ResMed S8 Autoset II user

Sex: Male
Location: Eugene, Oregon

Post: #2
RE: With respironics is there a way to modify the data on the sd card
You could reset the data on the machine and then reformat the SD card. Then, set the machine to the prescribed pressure. You will want to make sure that you have at least a month of data on the card before your next appointment. I doubt that anyone has worked on actually modifying the data.
08-16-2014 12:44 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Ghandi Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 137
Joined: Aug 2014

Machine: RemStar Pro with C-Flex+Philips Respironics System One
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: airfit p10(resmed)
Humidifier: systeme one humidifier with humidity set at 3 and heat set at 1
CPAP Pressure: 8
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #3
RE: With respironics is there a way to modify the data on the sd card
by reseting de data on the machine i will have to reconfigure it exactly has it was rigth? It will get suspicious if i do this every six months too Smile.
I'd have to figure out a story to tell.

Thx for the idea.
08-16-2014 03:16 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Terry Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 553
Joined: May 2014

Machine: Philips Respironics RemStar Auto with A-Flex (560P)
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: P/R Nuance & Pap Cap
Humidifier: Integrated
CPAP Pressure: Auto
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #4
RE: With respironics is there a way to modify the data on the sd card
(08-16-2014 11:19 AM)Ghandi Wrote:  I'm a software developer so if there is anyone explaining it to me, i should be able to get it pretty fast

The short answer is that it's possible to alter the data but it's a lot of work and generally not worth it.

If the doctor threatens to drop you, save him the trouble and walk out. The world is full of doctors and you don't need to use one that doesn't want you.

Quote:to avoid the DME telling my sleep doctor. It

I have a strong suspicion that the DME is making this story up to frighten you and keep you from doing things that they get paid to do and are just trying to "protect their turf".

I would definitely change DMEs and not worry about the doctor at all.

You have your diagnosis and machine. The doc can't "undiagnose you" or take your machine away.

Terry
08-16-2014 03:47 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Airstream Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 147
Joined: Feb 2013

Machine: Resmed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: Resmed H51
CPAP Pressure: 10-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: White Noise Aficionado

Sex: Male
Location: Smoky Mountains, East Tennessee

Post: #5
RE: With respironics is there a way to modify the data on the sd card
Excellent answer Terry!

To err is human, but to really mess things up, you need a computer.
08-16-2014 03:55 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Ghandi Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 137
Joined: Aug 2014

Machine: RemStar Pro with C-Flex+Philips Respironics System One
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: airfit p10(resmed)
Humidifier: systeme one humidifier with humidity set at 3 and heat set at 1
CPAP Pressure: 8
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #6
RE: With respironics is there a way to modify the data on the sd card
(08-16-2014 03:47 PM)tcarmen Wrote:  
(08-16-2014 11:19 AM)Ghandi Wrote:  I'm a software developer so if there is anyone explaining it to me, i should be able to get it pretty fast

The short answer is that it's possible to alter the data but it's a lot of work and generally not worth it.

If the doctor threatens to drop you, save him the trouble and walk out. The world is full of doctors and you don't need to use one that doesn't want you.

Quote:to avoid the DME telling my sleep doctor. It

I have a strong suspicion that the DME is making this story up to frighten you and keep you from doing things that they get paid to do and are just trying to "protect their turf".

I would definitely change DMEs and not worry about the doctor at all.

You have your diagnosis and machine. The doc can't "undiagnose you" or take your machine away.

Terry


I agree with you but in the public system the world is lacking doctors and we are lucky when we get one. I had to wait like a year to see the pneumologist. So here when we get the chance to get a doctor we try to keep him Smile

I think i'll try to find a DME willing to let my fiddle with the machine without alerting the doc. If that exists.
08-17-2014 10:23 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Terry Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 553
Joined: May 2014

Machine: Philips Respironics RemStar Auto with A-Flex (560P)
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: P/R Nuance & Pap Cap
Humidifier: Integrated
CPAP Pressure: Auto
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #7
RE: With respironics is there a way to modify the data on the sd card
(08-17-2014 10:23 AM)Ghandi Wrote:  I agree with you but in the public system the world is lacking doctors and we are lucky when we get one. I had to wait like a year to see the pneumologist. So here when we get the chance to get a doctor we try to keep him Smile

I think i'll try to find a DME willing to let my fiddle with the machine without alerting the doc. If that exists.

I could be wrong, but I don't believe that the doctor actually cares if you change your settings, if it's making you sleep and breathe better. I believe the only place that cares is your DME.

Terry
08-17-2014 11:59 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
retired_guy Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 2,744
Joined: Jan 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 10.6/14, EPR 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Is it bedtime yet?

Sex: Male
Location: Beautiful, albeit very wet Oregon Coast

Post: #8
RE: With respironics is there a way to modify the data on the sd card
(08-17-2014 10:23 AM)Ghandi Wrote:  I think i'll try to find a DME willing to let my fiddle with the machine without alerting the doc. If that exists.

I could not agree less. If your doc and/or your DME cannot grasp the concept of patient responsibility and teamwork in your health care then he/she is not a doctor you should be in the same room with.

You are, I believe, not "fiddling" with your settings. You are making mature, enlightened decisions to maximize the benefit of this therapy to your health.

Over a period of time I have maximized my settings to the point where my apnea is usually (not always) completely absent. Four days out of the last six I have had to tolerate that happy face you get when your ahi is zero. What's my doc going to say? "Gosh, you should have left everything alone so that your ahi was still two or three..." I don't think so, and if he did I would be out the door and on my way to the medical supervisors office.
08-17-2014 12:14 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,065
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #9
RE: With respironics is there a way to modify the data on the sd card
Do you need the doctor for anything? As in for compliance records for insurance or job reasons?

If not, don't bother hiding it and just do what you need to do. If doing what you are doing is lowering your AHI, and if your doctor disagrees with that, then you don't need that doctor. Any doc can write the script for supplies if you need it. It does not have to be a sleep doc.

But if you need that doctor because of compliance reasons, not sure what you can do but present the data, discuss the better AHI, discuss how much better you feel, and go from there.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
08-17-2014 08:09 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Ghandi Offline

Preferred Members-2

Posts: 137
Joined: Aug 2014

Machine: RemStar Pro with C-Flex+Philips Respironics System One
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: airfit p10(resmed)
Humidifier: systeme one humidifier with humidity set at 3 and heat set at 1
CPAP Pressure: 8
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #10
RE: With respironics is there a way to modify the data on the sd card
(08-17-2014 08:09 PM)PaulaO2 Wrote:  Do you need the doctor for anything? As in for compliance records for insurance or job reasons?

If not, don't bother hiding it and just do what you need to do. If doing what you are doing is lowering your AHI, and if your doctor disagrees with that, then you don't need that doctor. Any doc can write the script for supplies if you need it. It does not have to be a sleep doc.

But if you need that doctor because of compliance reasons, not sure what you can do but present the data, discuss the better AHI, discuss how much better you feel, and go from there.

well i have a thymus hyperplasia that's been looked at by this pneumologist. Could be a thymoma. Serious sh*t. But for the insurance it's already good. Nothing for the job either.

He wants to do a follow up twice a year. I guess he wouldt renew the cpap rx if there wasnt a follow up. So i fear in 5 years i cant get another cpap. Do we need a new rx for future purchase? I dont know if we do in Canada. I know the follow up would be necessary for the insurance to pay for the machine. But if it's only that it's not so bad.
08-17-2014 08:27 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  [Equipment] Respironics blower failure SleepyinMTL 2 94 Yesterday 12:52 AM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  [Pressure] How to change pressure - Respironics Solo slgoltz 5 19,964 11-30-2016 06:32 PM
Last Post: randx2
  respironics pillow covers? metropical 3 236 11-08-2016 11:02 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  [Equipment] ResMed AirSense - Is there data storage on the SD card AND in the unit itself? FormerFed 19 2,436 11-03-2016 03:17 PM
Last Post: PreciousRoy
  Respironics Sleep Easy Question Rich 5 4,568 11-01-2016 10:56 PM
Last Post: Star
  No Data on SD Card jamr005 3 234 10-29-2016 08:22 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Respironics Wisp Mask Questions Dreams of Green 6 379 10-23-2016 06:17 PM
Last Post: Ezil71

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)